top of page

UAE: No driving licence test required for residents from these 43 countries

Ministry offers service that facilitates the exchange of licence

Obtaining a driving licence in the UAE tops the list of priorities for most expats. While a majority of residents have to undergo several tests before being granted a license, there are a select few countries whose licence-holders are exempt from it and allowed to drive in the country.

The Ministry of Interior (MoI) offers a service that facilitates the exchange of driving licenses within the 'Markhoos' initiative. It grants visitors the right to drive with their national driving license or exchange it with a UAE license if they hold a residence permit.

According to a list posted on the MoI's website, licence-holders from these 43 countries are allowed to swap a driving licence from their home country for a UAE licence:

  1. Estonia

  2. Albania

  3. Portugal

  4. China

  5. Hungary

  6. Greece

  7. Ukraine

  8. Bulgaria

  9. Slovak

  10. Slovenia

  11. Serbia

  12. Cyprus

  13. Latvia

  14. Luxembourg

  15. Lithuania

  16. Malta

  17. Iceland

  18. Montenegro

  19. United State of America

  20. France

  21. Japan

  22. Belgium

  23. Switzerland

  24. Germany

  25. Italy

  26. Sweden

  27. Ireland

  28. Spain

  29. Norway

  30. New Zealand

  31. Romania

  32. Singapore

  33. Hong Kong

  34. Netherlands

  35. Denmark

  36. Austria

  37. Finland

  38. United Kingdom

  39. Turkey

  40. Canada

  41. Poland

  42. South Africa

  43. Australia


bottom of page